Kundalini word is derived from the Sanskrit language that signifies the arising of energy or consciousness which is situated at the base of the spinal cord and is coiled like a serpent there. 

Today as scientists have been produced all new technologies, Yogis from ancient India researched for Kundalini and showed it as a medium of self-realization.

One of the ancient text Purush Sukta describes Kundalini Shakti as:-

There are thousands of natural powers in a human body system, if they are fully awake,we will forget this materialistic world and the temporary enjoyment of senses.

Does Kundalini exist?

It is an eternal superpower, this energy triggers the formation of a new child in the womb and then coils 3 ½ times at the base of the spine to store the energy in statis field until we attain death. It is super consciousness, knowledge as well a universal truth.

According to Swetashvaropanishad;

“Na tasya roganam na jara na mratyu praptasyah, Yogaganimayam sariram.”  It is referred to as ‘Nachiket’ Agni or fire. Whoever attains the state of ‘Tri-Nachiket’ they are able to be free from the life cycle. Their bodies are blessed with Yoga-Agni and they are not having old age, any ailments, and death.

There are three stages of Kundalini shakti:-

  1. Kumari(Teenage),
  2. Kumaravastha(Adulthood),
  3. Jagrat(Awaken stage).                                                                                                                         When it is awakened it makes a mild noise. First lord Brahma experienced this stage of awakening Kundalini.

There is a descriptive presentation about awakening it in Hatha Yoga. During our YTTC in Rishikesh, India & Yoga retreats we offer several Yogasanas, PranayamaBandhas, Mudras, and Shatkarmas to awaken it.

Tantra Yoga has a full acknowledgment of this spiritual movement. Buddhism, Taoism, Native American, and indigenous societies also have a great version of Kundalini.

How to awaken Kundalini?

Kundalini is a myth for unaware people, the people who are spiritually awakened get a sense to know about it that is asleep on the tailbone. 

Dhyan Yoga is the best way to awaken the Ajna Chakra. When a practitioner continuously concentrates on this channel, the heat appears and this heat helps to activate Shusumna Nadi which follows to awaken it.


There are mainly two asanas, Siddhasana and Vajrasana which are persuasive to make Mool bandha. Apana Vayu is helpful to activate Manipur chakra with force. Apana Vayu moves fastly entire the body and purifies pitta and Kapha doshas.

Kundalini Yoga is started after the practice of Siddhasana. A practitioner should sit in this pose as his left foot’s heel is pressing the sacrum and the right leg is folded on the top of left one. 

The body needs to be straight and hands are placed on the knees. When the spine is straight it extends the veins and Mooladhara Chakra is pressed automatically. 

After one month’s continuous practice of Siddhasana is for having Siddhis and for awakening it.

There are 14 Mudras to awaken Kundali. These are also practiced with Asanas. These are:-

  • Mahamudra;
  • Maha bandha;
  • Mahavedha;
  • Viprit-karni Mudra;
  • Tadan mudra;
  • Utpidana;
  • Manduki;
  • Shakti Sanchalini mudra;
  • Vajroli;
  • Khechari;
  • Sambhavi;
  • Moolbandha;
  • Jalandhar bandha;
  • Uddiyana bandha.

Benefits of awakening Kundalini

Kundalini’s awakening can accomplish a wide range of phenomena, both positive and negative. It
travels fastly at 345000 miles a second while light travels at the rate of 185000 miles a second. 

It brings a great serenity for a spiritual person while this extreme force may also destroy an unconscious person.

The actual arousing of the tremendous force of Shaktipat may only be safely attempted under the expert guidance of a Master of occult science. Otherwise, it may flow downwards and intensify both the desire-nature and the activity of the sexual organs. When it is awakened it brings:-

  • A profound opportunity for those called to follow a spiritual journey.
  • Deep sensation to realize the self entity.
  •  A great vision to identify channels and to reveal the supreme truth.
  • State of super-consciousness of self-awakening.
  • Clarity about thoughts.
  • A balance with the internal world.
  • Kundalini brings a great sense of working on conflicts.
  • To be stable and to attain a deep state of peace and joy.

Note: Kundalini has a vast work on consuming Pranic energy for regulating Chakras regularly. It is highly advisable to practice Kundalini with Chakra and body cleansing.